Home » Entertainment » Paying Homage to First Drafts

Paying Homage to First Drafts

Live to Write - Write to Live

Write your first draft with your heart. Rewrite with your head.  - Finding ForresterI have made a solid commitment to completing the first draft of my romantic fiction novel by the middle of February, 2015. Dear Lord! What have I done? Some days I’m ecstatic, fingers itching to get the keyboard. Most days it’s just Butt In Chair Hands On Keyboard making the painful march towards my daily word count goal.

I’m a little over one third of the way to my word count goal and I gotta tell ya. This story SUCKS, but you know what? I’m ok with the suckitude. I’m learning that what matters is getting something, ANYTHING down on the damn page.

That doesn’t mean I don’t push myself, it just means I’m learning to be less of a perfectionist right out of the gate. I’m getting the words on paper so I can go back and edit them and make them better…

View original post 401 more words

Leave a Reply

