Home » Entertainment » Journalism, in fewer than 400 words

Journalism, in fewer than 400 words

About reporting

How nice of the New York Times’ public editor, Margaret Sullivan, to hand all of us this near the end of the semester: “Everything I Know About Journalism in 395 Words.”

No way I would be able to put this as succinctly as she does, but I agree with her advice — a gift to her last journalism class (for the foreseeable future) at Columbia University.

Here it is:

1. About social media.
• No road rage; walk away from the keyboard.
• Be useful.
• Be responsive.
• Be willing to correct and acknowledge errors immediately.
• Show restraint; remember that you are posting to The World. Forever.
• Try for a mix of 20 percent fun and 80 percent hard information.
• Read every link before re-tweeting or re-posting.
• It’s a tool, not an end in itself.

2. About journalism.
• Don’t cut corners. Do the actual…

View original post 364 more words

2 thoughts on “Journalism, in fewer than 400 words

  1. Hello and Thank You for visiting my Recovery Blog! I think Mr. Harsh Reality guy had something to do with that! LOL. Never be afraid to write!! You don’t have to be a ‘professional writer’ or even a journalist to let what is in your heart fall onto your keyboard….

    My years of journaling about my recovery journey, living with mental/emotional health problems, and my past childhood trauma and abuse was power enough to have a book published to help others, and give them HOPE to never give up on life!

    I’m now a new follow fan, and I’ll have my eye on you! LOL.
    “Just Keep Writing!”

    Author, Catherine Townsend-Lyon 🙂 XO

    • Wow! Thank you for the encouragement. Really, I’m not consciously aware of why i really visited your blog but it’s powerful none the less. I’ll have to say that when I read about recovery stories I wonder where I am along that path. Some days I feel lost in a sea of living day by day and other days I feel like I’ll be OK. Today? Let me have my coffee and toast first then I’ll decide. lol Thanks again for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

